“We didn’t spam,” CNN

As soon as I finished my last post, I shot a mail to CNN feedback email id expressing my frustration. This was my mail

I never visit CNN website I don’t have an id there. Nor do I subscribe to any news from the
site. Why am I still receiving “news updates”?
From where did you get my email id and who gave you permission to send me mails which
I have no interest in! The funniest part is to disable these mails I need to create an id
now that was my WTF moment of the day. Please I need answers.
If you are not the right person please redirect me to the correct person. (email id pls)

….and to be honest I wasn’t disappointed, as I received a reply from them today morning

Thank you for alerting us to the spam you have received that purports to be from CNN.  As you may know, spammers often disguise or forge the source of their e-mail to give the impression that it derived from the CNN system.  In fact, this message is fraudulent and did not originate from CNN.  We suggest that you delete it, and any other e-mails you suspect to be illegitimate, from your mailbox.

So the suspicion most people raised as comments to my previous post were indeed true. Check this post made by CNN on their blog on this issue (thanks karmalove)

There is another improvement on the issue, Gmail is flagging those mails with warning notes

Check this screen

Reblog this post

16 thoughts on ““We didn’t spam,” CNN

  1. I think they replied so quickly because of the phrase “WTF Moment” in your email… They didn’t want to take any panga with u! πŸ˜€
    Good show, dude! Now that we know CNN allegedly does not spam people, we can go ahead and spam them! πŸ˜€

  2. @Smita
    LOL yeah… I was taken aback when I saw the mail the next day! πŸ˜€


    Yeah heard of such things I didn’t know they would spoof CNN ! πŸ™‚

    Yes they did.. I hope its not a bot which detected the “spam” word from my mail and sent the reply


    “WTF” is the secret of my success
    (that can be read in three ways to mean three diff things.. cool!)

  3. Dude, check the “Show details” and see from which id it is coming from…!
    And I agree with Dinu, it’s spoofing…I get such type of mails from PayPal…Just ignore them..that’s the best thing..

  4. Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be very good.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog β€˜chup-chap’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. πŸ™‚

    You can also win an exciting t-shirt by winning the contest which is going on in rambhai.com…. hurry up the contest is from 10 – 24 august…


  5. @Joel
    Yeah Dinu was right. I generally do check my email id when I get such mails.. somehow overlooked it.. thanks for reminding!

    I love reading spam (I don’t open them.. just the titles)
    This one interrupts the flow you see πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for visiting my blog and liking it.. however I am not quite interested in rabhaii

    @Quirky Indian
    Thanks I am honored πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s